Whaaaaat? Training is not always the solution?


I don’t know about where you work, but where I work any problems with the knowledge that learners have will often come back to training. The prevalent urge seems to be to offer more training. Quite a few times I’ve combed through the material to show a technical council or administrator that we do, in fact, have quite a bit of training on the problem area. The students are also tested on it; they require 80% to pass. That’s all I can do really I can provide training on written communication, verbal communication, and relevant technical training but I can’t very well hold someone’s hand while they do an inspection (and even if I could it wouldn’t be very helpful because I don’t know much about the technical aspects). So I felt very vindicated to come across Caffarella’s (2002) statement that, “formal education and training programs, even those that have already been completed, will not solve the problems and issues presented”(p. 137). Often in these scenarios, the ones I have at work and the ones that  Caffarella (2002) describes, other interventions, and other people need to be brought into the conversation.  

 

Caffarella, R.S. (2002). Planning programs for adult learners: A practical guide for educators, trainers, and staff developers (2nd ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

One thought on “Whaaaaat? Training is not always the solution?

Leave a Reply

