Case Studies Presentations


Wow unique presentations today. I saw some suits, but no costumes 🙂

The first presentation was performed as broadcast radio and the sector was law enforcement. That was a really unique presentation style and I applaud their originality. I would not have thought about it–I was thinking only of pitching to government people. Also, I love radio! It was instantly more engaging because of the twist they placed on traditional presenting.

Our piece was wonderfully presented by such engaging instructors as Ken and Kolby with a lot of great back up during the panel questions from Sandi, Jason, Andree, Jan and Colleen. I had such bright colleagues I didn’t have to say anything. I feel lucky! We really tackled a large-scale topic and I think we did a great job with a creative approach that tied into pre-existing industry frameworks. Thanks group!

Next up was nurses and they took a good approach of tying the framework of training to present  in-training approaches. They had a male presenter who was pretty good at gently detailing assumptions about a largely female workplace–that’s not an easy task. They dealt with complex questions from the panel including mention of prescriptive training. Good discussions.

Travel industry was up this is not something I am very familiar with so it was interesting to see how that industry might cope with a pandemic. I didn’t know BC had the second highest employment rate in the travel industry in Canada. Social distancing methods was a really great point, and so was the self-assessment. Bernie also put a good rhyme in there: Web-based, self-paced.

The last group of the day, a tough spot, was filled by the k-12 educators. They didn’t bring up a “no licking each other policy” as I would have–maybe that’s why I am not a teacher?–but they did bring up great points about the education level of teachers and the ongoing professional development to which they remain dedicated.

I think everyone did well. The project taxed our time resources and it was the project that I experienced the most “storming”; a reminder (to me, but may be useful to you) that group conflict can actually help a project as long as the passion is directed in the appropriate way. Oscar Wilde once said, “Whenever people agree with me I always feel I must be wrong”. It is important not to fall into the trap of group think–where there is complete agreement in all things at all times. The beauty of group work is that we aspire to be more than we can be as a single individual. With the last group project of residency I am happy to be done, but a little sad to be leaving you all.

But, we’ll always have the memories of peacocks.

And the party at the castle.

Leave a Reply

