Dogone Tired


Dogone Tired

All this thinking is tiring me out!

Whew! These last two days have left me feeling pretty tired.

We spent the afternoon doing the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator test today. I have done the test before–I think at the time I tested my personality just out of curiosity–but in my undergraduate we also did a similar colors test for a project management course that I took. I was a green-gold combination which is a strange combination of traits that range from traditional, inventive, practical, and curious–among others.

My Myers-Briggs test results were ENTP Extroverted, iNtuition, Thinking, Perception. According to the handout we received in class, “people with ENTP preferences are ingenious, innovators who always see new possibilities and new ways of doing things”. I agree with the definitions of the type indicated for me except that in many cases I have some similarities with other attributes like the Introvert or the Feeling areas.

In talking to the cohort some of them were not big fans of the process or the type indication of the tests and many felt that the process took a very long time. I enjoyed the interactivity of the exercises and dividing the group into different sections so I could see the faces of individuals who had similarities and differences from me.

Curious to learn more I looked up an article that discussed the psychometric analysis of the items in the Myers-Birggs test and found that, “although the average interterm correlations within the four scales were relatively low (.11~.19) the reliability (alpha) coefficients for the scales were rather high (.74~.85). Factor analysis on the intercorrelations among all 95 items yielded clear simple structures with the resultant empirical factors being matched almost perfectly with the theoretical scales of the MBTI” (Tzeng, 2009, p.255).

The reliability factor being fairly high is reassuring for researchers, who are concerned about accuracy and repeatability. However, there were other concerns raised in conversation with the cohort, concerns which I feel merit discussion. It was mentioned that a lot of the questions were heavily leading and obvious, and still some others could be answered differently given context. A good example was whether you like to find a small group at a party or interact with the larger group as a whole. There are many variables here including who is in attendance at the party, your feelings about individuals at the party, and how many drinks you have had.

Tzeng, O., Outcalt, D., Boyer, S., Ware, R., & Landis, D. (1984). Item validity of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. Journal Of Personality Assessment, 48(3), 255-256.

Leave a Reply

